Wood Works: Discover the International Open Call for a curatorial team

Wood Works

The Estonian Association of Architects (EAA) has joined forces with the Estonian Centre for Architecture (ECA) and the Irish Architecture Foundation (IAF) to promote an International Open Call to select a curatorial team for Wood Works a new exhibition programme taking place between Ireland and Estonia from 2020-2021.

The project is an Estonian-Irish collaboration that supports an exchange of expertise and creativity among architects from the two countries and focuses on the use of wood in the architectural field. The competition seeks to find an individual curator or team of curators for the initiative, which includes an itinerant exhibition, two collaborative workshops and a dedicated publication.

In addition to this, curators will be responsible for organising two workshops (in respect of Covid guidelines) that will precede the exhibition in 2020. They will select e a minimum of five teams to design a maximum of 5-10 installations responding to the curatorial concept, to represent the core of the exhibition, which will open in the Solstice Art Centre in Ireland in March 2021, and travel to Tallinn later in the year.

The curators will be appointed from September 2020 to March 2021. The curatorial fee is €10,000. The team must contain at least one Estonian national and one Irish national who can share the fee and work collaboratively. The competition comprises of two stages: Stage I consists of submitting a project in writing and Stage II is an oral presentation of the project before a jury. If the jury deems that a winner can be chosen in Stage I, it is entitled to cancel Stage II.

The jury panel is composed of Raul Järg (Chairman of ECA), Nathalie Weadick (Director of IAF), Veronika-Valk Siska (advisor on architecture and design at the Ministry of Culture in Estonia), Merritt Bucholz (Architect and Founding Professor of Architecture at the School of Architecture, University of Limerick), Ott Kadarik (partner and architect at Kadarik Tüür Arhitektid), Ciaran O’Connor (President of the Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland).

The deadline for submitting the concept in writing is 28th August 2020 at 12.00h GMT/14.00h EEST. The jury will meet on September 3rd 2020 and the shortlisted teams will be required to attend the following interviews. Final results will be announced in September 2020. On June 18th, 2020 at 13.00h GMT/15.00h EEST there will be an Information Session Webinar. Please click here to register. Source by Estonian Association of Architects.

  • Location: Estonia
  • Organiser: Estonian Association of Architects (EAA)
  • Co-organisers: Estonian Centre for Architecture (ECA), Irhish Architecture Foundation (IAF)
  • Co-founder: Enterprise Estonia
  • Estonian Association of Architects (EAA): Kadri Laar
  • Partner: Arts Council of Ireland
  • Press Office Wood Works: mint LIST (Giulia Milza, Maria Azzurra Rossi)
  • Photographs: Ros Kavanagh, Barry Cronin, Courtesy of mint LIST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *