LAKA Competition 2020: ‘Architecture that Reacts’

Architecture that Reacts

The subject of the competition is architectural, urban, technological, or product design that is capable of dynamic interaction with its social, natural, or built surroundings. The main focus of the competition is on solutions developed through a process of changes and adjustments. Achieving such a goal requires an interdisciplinary approach that often goes beyond typical solutions.

The winning projects from the previous editions often took advantages from disciplines such as robotics, mechanics, digital fabrication, biodesign and biofabrication, computational design, materials science, bioarchitecture, social sciences, industrial design, mobility, and more. The participants are free to decide the project’s location, scale, size, and program. Source and images Courtesy of LAKA.

Claudia Pasquero (architect, researcher, lecturer, cofounder of ecoLogicStudio)
David Benjamin (founder and principal of The Living, professor at Columbia GSAPP)
Daan Roosegaarde (artist, innovator, founder of Studio Roosegaarde)
Emma van der Leest (biodesigner, product designer, founder of the BlueCity lab)
Elizabeth Monoian (artist, founding director of LAGI, cofounder of Studied Impact)
Robert Ferry (architect, founding director of LAGI and Studied Impact)
Dr. Peter Kuczia (architect, initiator and curator of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’)

Main prizes and honorable mentions will be selected. The winner for the year 2020 and the laureates invited to present their projects during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux Campus (Melle, Germany) on April 23–24, 2020. Laureates of all recognitions will be presented on Laka’s websites, promoted via Laka’s network of partners, and included in future publications related to the competition ‘Architecture that Reacts.’ Moreover, the best projects will be exhibited during ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020.’

Financial compensations
1250 USD: Winner for the year 2020*
625 USD: Laureate of Gold Prize**
625 USD: Laureate of Silver Prize**
625 USD: Laureate of Bronze Prize**
Organizer will pay the 20% tax on awards in Poland.
*Net values after taxation: *1000 USD; **500 USD.

Laka invites everyone interested in the mission of the competition to submit their ideas. The participants are free to decide the project’s location, scale, size, and program and are encouraged to look for interdisciplinary solutions. Participants may submit multiple projects; each entry must be registered separately. There is no limit as to the number of participants per team. Individual entries are allowed. Interdisciplinary teams are encouraged to join.

Evaluation criteria
Entries will be evaluated based on the criteria of (1) overall idea and implementation; (2) an ability to respond to social, economic, or environmental changes; (3) the design’s level of social and environmental engagement; (4) a relationship to a specific social, natural, and built context; (5) the design’s level of flexibility and adaptability; (6) an innovative use of technology and sustainable systems; and (7) the design’s level of self-sufficiency.

Registration opens in June 2019
Early Registration until August 1, 2019
Regular Registration until November 1, 2019
Late Registration until December 1, 2019
Project submission deadline: December 20, 2019
Jury deliberation: January 2020
Winners’ announcement: February 1, 2020
‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference: April 23–24, 2020
UTC time zone for all dates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *