The registration deadline for the 5th edition of the European Award For Architectural Heritage Intervention extended

European Award For Architectural Heritage Intervention

The European Award for Architectural Heritage intervention, a biennial contest organized with the support of COAC (Architects’ Association of Catalonia) and AADIPA (Association of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage), the purpose of which is to distinguish quality interventions in heritage and contribute to their dissemination, will remain open until March 26th, 2021.

On this occasion, any completed work, carried out or published in the European geographical area during the period between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2020, and which meets the requirements of the 4 categories of the award can be entered:

Category A: Intervention in built heritage
All architectural, permanent or ephemeral interventions in architectural properties of heritage interest.
Category B: Exterior spaces
All interventions in the historic public space, in monumental and cultural landscape environments.

Category C: Urban planning
All planning work aimed at the protection, conservation and enhancement of architectural heritage.
Category D: Disclosure
Those initiatives, activities and actions that are aimed at disseminating the values of architectural heritage.

This 5th edition, as was the case in the previous call, has opted for a jury dynamic that gives visibility to a relevant number of works and thus contributes to recognizing the optimum level of good heritage practice in Europe. In this sense, in category A, the jury will make a selection of up to 15 and in B, a maximum of 10, from which, in both cases, will emerge an award-winner and three finalists; on the other hand, in categories C and D, there will be one winner and three finalists.

In addition, in accordance with this aim, from all the work presented, the award management, for the second consecutive year, will award a Special Mention for Restoration to the intervention that from a technical and methodological point of view stands out for its quality, precision and respect. All the works presented will be added to the Digital Archive of the Award, which already has more than 800 entries from 27 different European countries. Source by European Award For Architectural Heritage Intervention and images Courtesy of PONCH.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *